New Salt water tank setup question. Total Newb!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kav

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Thanks to advise I got from members on this site, I have finally decided to go ahead with my salt water tank project. I bought a 125 ga (1/2 inch thick glass with custom stand. It was a bit expensive for a used tank but the tank looks amazing with the custom stand. It included the tank and stand 100lbs of crushed rock, 3 containers of salt, testing materials and chemicals, a used Eheim 2217 and Eheim 2229 and some other misc for $750 CND delivered.

I have a lot of question so I'll break them up.

The stand I bought looks very unique but does not have any cabinets, though it is open on the backside. The seller suggested casters, but I've read mixed reviews on them. I've found some low profile high weight (600+lbs/each) casters. What are your thoughts on this (I'd prefere to keep everything under the stand which is empty)?

I have read a lot about having the largest volume possible and using a seperate tank as a sump seems like a good way to do this but do you guys think I could manage without this?

I know I need a lot of other equipment including live rock, lights,etc so I was considering buying another used set and selling off the parts I don't use. What do you guys think (since it will likely be cheaper than buying seperately)?

Here is the other used system: $1650 CND
150 gallon tank w/starfire glass (24x24x5') - Sell this later
90 gallon tank (sump) (24x24x48") - sell b/c too big to fit?
Ocean Runner Skimmer (aquamedic ocean runner OR3500)
Calcium Reactor (good for 500 gallon tank) - needs new calcium
Coral View Metal Hal-Lights (2-250's) -needs new bulbs
T 5's (2) w/deflector
Live Rock (approx. 200 pounds)
Crushed coral substrate