Question on Aquarium Filtration

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaked1123

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello guys! :D

I've been keeping fish for 4 years and just recently got my first mega tank at 210 gallons! I made the mistake of not looking further into just how much a Fluval FX4 canister really does filtrate. I was running just the FX4 since it's rated for 250 gallons, but quickly realized from other hobbyists it wouldn't be enough.

Currently, the tank now has the FX4, an established Emperor 400 HOB filter from an old tank, and an AquaClear 110 HOB filter. Making 3 filters in total.

The filters are rated for 250, 75, and 100 gallons respectively. The tank is heavily planted and will home mixed schooling fish and angelfish.

Does this seem like it's filtrated enough? Also, on the side, how would I know if the canister filter wasn't operating efficiently? It's so quiet and hard to tell if things are going good, haha. (First canister filter)

Thanks for your help! :dance:

Hello guys! :D

I've been keeping fish for 4 years and just recently got my first mega tank at 210 gallons! I made the mistake of not looking further into just how much a Fluval FX4 canister really does filtrate. I was running just the FX4 since it's rated for 250 gallons, but quickly realized from other hobbyists it wouldn't be enough.

Currently, the tank now has the FX4, an established Emperor 400 HOB filter from an old tank, and an AquaClear 110 HOB filter. Making 3 filters in total.

The filters are rated for 250, 75, and 100 gallons respectively. The tank is heavily planted and will home mixed schooling fish and angelfish.

Does this seem like it's filtrated enough? Also, on the side, how would I know if the canister filter wasn't operating efficiently? It's so quiet and hard to tell if things are going good, haha. (First canister filter)