Questions about fishless cycle in 38g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dearmschris

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I'm a beginner trying to do a fishless cycle and I am hoping someone might be willing to take a look at what I've been doing with my tank and tell me if I'm doing ok so far. I'm doing my best to be patient and I'm happy to keep on waiting and being patient as long as I'm doing things right! If I'm doing things wrong please let me know what I could do better. Thanks!

38g bowfront tank with Penguin biowheel filter

7/22 -- set up tank (including lights, filter), rinsed gravel and decorations, filled with water treated with QuickStart. (I have since been told that QuickStart is fairly useless.) I looked for ammonia without surfactants and wasn't able to find it near me so I ordered Dr. Tim's Aquatics ammonia drops online and waited for that to arrive. I also ordered Seachem stability which was recommended to me by another member.

7/25 -- tested water (using API Freshwater Master Test Kit) to get some kind of baseline
pH: 7.6
ammonia: 0 -- 0.25 PPM
nitrite: 0 ppm
nitrate: 0 ppm

7/27 -- added Seachem Stability (day 1 -- one capful per 20 gallons, as directed) and Dr. Tim's Aquatics ammonia drops (one drop per gallon, as directed)

7/28 -- added Seachem Stability (day 2)
ammonia: 0 -- 0.25 ppm

7/29 -- added Seachem Stability (day 3)
pH: 7.2
ammonia: 0.25 ppm

7/30 -- added Seachem Stability (day 4)
pH: 7.2
ammonia: 0.5 ppm

7/31 -- added Seachem Stability (day 5), added Dr. Tim's Aquatics ammonia drops (1 drop per gallon)
ammonia: 0.5 ppm

***Does all of this sound ok? If not, what can I do to get things on the right track?