strange water fogginess recurring problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishman0000

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hello I am not a newbie at aquarium maintenance but I do have a strange problem. a couple months ago I had a 10 gallon aquarium with about four fish in it two tetras two catfish and a plico and also a small crab, and suddenly the whole biological system came out of whack I did really nothing to it I was cleaning the tank and doing weekly water changes and then suddenly the water got incredibly cloudy and incredibly smelly after trying a host of different things I just decided to upgrade them to a new tank a 17 gal and I did everything that you're supposed to do while setting it up I placed the fish in a day and a half later everything was going fine and then about a month later the tank got cloudy again it is not as bad as the first time but I'm just wondering why. I'm cleaning the gravel when it needs it I'm doing weekly small water changes and monthly filter changes in no matter what chemicals I put in that supposedly stop this it doesn't seem to affect or makes it worse can someone please tell me what's going on

Hi! Welcome to AA!
One thing that really stands out is you changing the filter media monthly. By doing that you are resetting the cycle in your tank. Is the water cloudy/milky white? That would be a bacterial bloom. Common in cycling tanks. Once your tank has settled it will clear on its own. You probably have a much bigger problem going in in your rank than cloudy water. Do you own a test kit? Can you test your water? I'm guessing the ammonia and/or nitrite is high. you will need to do daily water changes to keep these under control.
Please read these articles.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...-to-Starting-a-Freshwater-Aquarium/Page1.html