Tank mates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chev13696

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have one red tail tinfoil barb and going to be getting more. Any one have any ideas for larger fish (do not want small fish) that will be good tank mates for these. I have a 125 gallon aquarium.

i have no experience with such sized fish, but my local LFS keeps tinfoil barbs and Oscars together in a 160 gallon show tank. None of the fish ever show any signs of damage or fighting.

i have no experience with such sized fish, but my local LFS keeps tinfoil barbs and Oscars together in a 160 gallon show tank. None of the fish ever show any signs of damage or fighting.

Oscars they are aggressive aren't they? Looking for something a little more calm.

Those are a semi aggressive fish I'm pretty sure. I kept a rainbow shark in my tank awhile back with them. He grew to be about 6in if that's big enough lol.

Those are a semi aggressive fish I'm pretty sure. I kept a rainbow shark in my tank awhile back with them. He grew to be about 6in if that's big enough lol.

Yeah that size should be ok just don't want tiny fish in that big of a tank. But yeah looking for fish that can get 6+ inches. I will have to look I to the rainbow sharks. How long do they take to grow to the 6 inch mark.