New to convicts...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Convict2161

Aquarium Advice Addict
My friend gave me 3 convicts less then an inch right now. All I have is a 30 gallon bow type tank. Heater and a marineland pro series filter that's for a 50 gallon. Think it's a 280. Anyway he pretty much set it up for me with fake logs for them to hide, some fake plants and a piece of real driftwood. We had the tank cycled and tested prior to putting fish into the tank. Now the question is and remember I'm very new to this. The PH is at a 6.5 or yellowish green. I've done a 25% water change twice already with no change. Nitrate and ammonia are perfect. Not sure what else to do.

Now I know this isn't right but... We have a fish tank at the firehouse and it has 12 convicts and it's a 29 gallon tank! They haven't changed the water in a year! Just add water when needed then stress coat and that's pretty much it. There all still alive and nasty as ****!! The local fish guy said if we went to change the water they would all die because they've adapted to the harsh conditions. What can I do about that as well? I'm looking into getting the firehouse at least a 75 gallon tank would that be big enough for the 12 we have? Also to house 7 convicts would a 55 be ok?

Thanks everyone for your patience and our time.

i think thats horrible about the firehouse fish, but theres not much you can do. remember what he said about they are adapted to the harsh conditions? well giving the an extra 40 gallons of new clean water can potentially kill them. it may not be big enough when they hit full size, ud need a 90 or so (as far as i know).