Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-11-2011, 02:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

New to convicts...

My friend gave me 3 convicts less then an inch right now. All I have is a 30 gallon bow type tank. Heater and a marineland pro series filter that's for a 50 gallon. Think it's a 280. Anyway he pretty much set it up for me with fake logs for them to hide, some fake plants and a piece of real driftwood. We had the tank cycled and tested prior to putting fish into the tank. Now the question is and remember I'm very new to this. The PH is at a 6.5 or yellowish green. I've done a 25% water change twice already with no change. Nitrate and ammonia are perfect. Not sure what else to do.

Now I know this isn't right but... We have a fish tank at the firehouse and it has 12 convicts and it's a 29 gallon tank! They haven't changed the water in a year! Just add water when needed then stress coat and that's pretty much it. There all still alive and nasty as ****!! The local fish guy said if we went to change the water they would all die because they've adapted to the harsh conditions. What can I do about that as well? I'm looking into getting the firehouse at least a 75 gallon tank would that be big enough for the 12 we have? Also to house 7 convicts would a 55 be ok?

Thanks everyone for your patience and our time.

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 12:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict