New World Cichlid Stocking (55 Gallon)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gui101do

Aquarium Advice Regular
New World Cichlid Stocking (55 Gallon) NOW WITH PICS!!

Hello, I am a novice cichlid owner and would very much appreciate some advice!

My Rough specs:
I have a 55 gallon tank (48x13x24), 2 powerheads, an undergravel filtration system, and an appropriate power filter.

The Cichlids we are interested in are; Electric Blue Jack Dempseys, Green Terrors, Red Parrots, Cockatoos & Firemouths.

Other fish we have contemplated adding if able: Redtail Shark, Gold Dojo or Clown Loach, any applicable Barb, Hammers Cobalt Blue Lobster.

Here are my questions:

What would be any GLARING compatibility issues amongst the Cichlids? I am aware of the semi-aggressive to aggressive nature of the Cichlids, but I also know that the lobster and barbs can be hearty and may be able to hold their own.

With my specs and tank size, what would be the max limit of cichlid ONCE THEY ARE FULL GROWN. I don't want these fish to fit now, but then once they mature, become over-crowded. What's a realistic number of cichlids/others so that I will not have over-crowding issues down the line? 4 cichlids? 5? Less? More?

Thank you for your time.

Welcome to AA!!

Youve made an awesome choice by going with CA/SA (central/south american) cichlids. Ill give you my insight and remember that there are exceptions to just about every species.

EBJD's are good fish that add color. They dont get as big as the regular jack dempsey and are less aggressive. As long as you add enough hiding places you will be ok with this one.

Green terrors are pretty, but are on the aggressive side and get pretty big so IMO id avoid that one.