Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-10-2004, 11:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Anyone have a tank with the Mega Overflow?

Just got my Oceanic, still setting it all up. Question for anyone with the Mega Overflow in there tank.

I'd like to have the return pipe "return" water to both sides of the tank. Of course the plumbing kit only came with 1 flex return, but I thought I'd purchase another and attempt to plumb it in.

My Mega Overflow is located in the exact center of the tank, on the back wall. There are 2 punch outs for the flex pipe but I have not quite figured out how to utilize both.

Anyone doing this, or maybe something similar?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Marine Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon RR * Established October 2004
Planted Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon * Established September 2005
ASpec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 12:37 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
buy a scwd and your prob is solved
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 12:52 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Not really... I'd still need to bring the 2nd return pipe into the tank. I am trying to acomplish this all with-in the megaflow overflow compartment.

I don't necessarly need the SCWD to create the random flow as I don't mind the flow being constant, as long as it's coming from 2 seperate locations.

Thanks for response though.
__________________
Marine Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon RR * Established October 2004
Planted Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon * Established September 2005
ASpec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 02:00 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Could you put a tee at the top of the return line and bring one flex off each side of the tee? That would give you flow from the center toward both ends. I've seen these overflows, but I never really paid any attention to how they were set up.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 11:21 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Yeah, just put a tee in or they do may a flex return Y pipe. I have considered something like this but the drain side of the overflow would appear to be in the way. I think it might be tough to fit it all in the overflow. I just have a 75 gal tank so you overflow might be bigger though.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 10:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 221
You are correct Ellisz, the megaflow overflow box is not setup to take the T. The drain pipe is in the way. I'm looking into other ideas but still have not decided.

The sad news now... my brand new 58 gallon has to be exchanged. There is a seal on the megaflow that is leaking, down near the bottom. I did a "smiluated" power outage today and discovered the leak. It would only take about 2-3 hours of no power for the main tank to overflow the sump... not good says the wife!

Now I have to empty the entire tank, water, rock, and sand... wait a day for the new tank to arrive and strart over!
__________________
Marine Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon RR * Established October 2004
Planted Tank: Oceanic 58 Gallon * Established September 2005
ASpec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2004, 04:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 184
Sorry to hear about the tank. I use both sides of my megaflow. I went to home depot and got a slip to threaded connector, place this at the top of the return pipe(remember to drill a hole for a syphon break). The ball and socket parts aren't compatable with the ones I bought so I had to make a second order. Anyhow. Use the threaded to ball adapter, then a Y fitting, followed by whatever you want. On one side I have a 3" flat nozzle on the surface and a normal nozzle pointed across the rock. On the other side I have another 3" flat nozzle on the surface and I'm working on a spraybar for the other side.

Marinedepot has a pretty good selection of ball and socket tubing. Unfortunately there not compatable with the ones that come with the mega-flow kit. You'll
__________________

__________________
sevise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mega Flow Overflow Kit? Good, bad? mordred General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 04-25-2007 11:21 AM
Building A 50,000 Gallon Monster Mega Tank neoprodigy Aquaria Off-Topic 9 11-27-2006 10:37 AM
Maxi-Reef 200 or 300? All-Glass 90G Mega-Flow Tank?? David803sc Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 02-12-2005 10:49 AM
Mega-flow overflow and Microbubbles doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 07-15-2004 01:57 AM
MEGA Algea JJFly Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-08-2004 10:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.