Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2008, 01:35 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe&rae View Post
i did add rock but it was not live and i have not added anything else but i did change the tank ...
You changed the tank? You mean you transferred everything from one tank to a different one?

If the rock wasn't cured, then that alone probably would cause a mini cycle. But if you actually switched to a different tank, and moved the sand bed with it, then that will cause a cycle also. When switching tanks, it's best to leave the old sand alone so that you won't stir up all the nasty stuff thats buried down deep.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 01:59 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Elizabetown KY
Posts: 120
No it was all new sand! but there is new unlive rock!! i got some PRIME to try and stable the levels a little
__________________

__________________
joe&rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 08:11 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Prime?? What happened to the suggested water changes?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 08:22 AM   #14
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I agree forget the Prime stick with every other day PWC`s.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 01:06 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Elizabetown KY
Posts: 120
i did a 10% change last night before i put the prime in !! everything but the ammonia is where it should be at noon when i tested. 8.2 ph, 0 nitrate, but ammonia is still .50 i will do a water change tomorrow afternoon.
__________________
joe&rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 02:43 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
You will still measure ammonia when using Prime, even though the Prime has converted it to a non-toxic compound. With those ammonia levels I'd suggest larger water changes on the order of 25-30% - but it's kind of a mute point since you're using Prime.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 02:46 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree with Kurt. Have you been using Prime for a while now? Did something die in the tank?
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 04:06 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy953 View Post
I agree with Kurt. Have you been using Prime for a while now? Did something die in the tank?
They added more rock, changed tanks, and now are experiencing an ammonia spike.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 05:42 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I saw that they had added more rock, I was just looking for another possible cause of the ammonia. If nothing has died then I agree it was probably something that re-hydrated and rotted in the tank.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 11:24 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Elizabetown KY
Posts: 120
well i have not lost any fish in this tank but about 3mo ago a goby went missing never saw anything of he he just vanished!! but that was in old tank (same water and some of same rock) and the levels were normal in the old tank!!
__________________

__________________
joe&rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How bad really are nitrite levels... MattP725 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-17-2017 03:20 AM
ID good and bad or bad and bad? help! ryshark Saltwater & Reef - Identification 7 01-22-2008 01:30 AM
Bad Hubandry leads to bad tank john0087 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-05-2007 11:52 PM
How to Lower Calcium Levels? What can High Levels Cause? xxnonamexx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-11-2005 04:34 PM
bad red tailed shark bad! yv1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-21-2003 05:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.