Battery backup???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

David S

Aquarium Advice Addict
Has anyone tried/using a ups for backup in case of power failure on a sump pump or maybe a heater?
Would they work,if so how long would they last?

I've thought about this also. I wouldn't want a reef system to tank during an extended outage. Pretty much what I've heard is that anything over a couple hours will likely damage the system and about 6 hours you can pretty much forget it.

Being an Electrical Engineer, I know that most battery backup systems that you can buy in your local Wal-Mart or Target stores (APC comes to mind) that are strictly battery backup will provide essentially a square wave output when operating (versus a sine wave from the power company), and most pump equipment could potentially be damaged under such a power source - they're just not designed to operate on that type of power. So I would think that at most, you would just want to select one power head to put on battery backup and make sure you have enough established Live Rock in the system to support biological conversion during an outage.

As far as the time frame, it's simply a function of battery capacity versus demand. A small power head (Hydor Koralia 2 or 3) could probably run for an hour or so I'm guessing (totally guessing) which would probably get you through a short term outage.