Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-30-2012, 04:53 PM   #821
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
Hey Dary,
Sorry to read about your Tang.
I almost pulled the trigger on 2. 750 Koralia Evolutions, until I kept reading about that in the reviews. That and noise.
Without having the cash for Eco's, I just went with the Cobalt Maxi- jet 1200's, Sure-grips and careful placement. Italian Maxis worked for me in the past and matched my wavemaker( cheapy strip type).
I have to say, although linear in flow, they make no noise on start-up and only a little hum in operation.
After reading your experience, I'm glad I didn't get the Koralias. I would hate to lose any of my stock like that.
Again, sorry about your loss.
__________________

__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:26 PM   #822
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
I have a 550 that does that sometimes when I unplug it for tank maintenance. Sorry for your loss...
__________________

spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:48 PM   #823
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 16,530
I have a 1050, 2 750s, and a 550. The one 750 used to do it, but has stopped. Unsure as to why. I believe I read somewhere that it was a known issue that they were looking into and have possibly solved. Don't recall fully.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:54 PM   #824
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,188
As per the internet; Assuming the shaft bushings are intact check to see if the rubber stop in the front cover is still intact. This is the part that the prop will hit if it spins backwards and cause it to bounce and then change direction. Most AC motors can accidentally run backwards, but there is suppose to be a safety stop on the prop, at least there is on mine. Sorry about the poor tang.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:39 PM   #825
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Both my koralias do the same thing, they do it a lot too. I don't have a wave maker so it doesn't really matter to me. I actually use it to my advantage because it removes the gunk in the propellers.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:49 PM   #826
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Are you using the old ones or the new versions?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:56 PM   #827
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dary421's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego,ca
Posts: 2,462
Very interesting discussion here..., the one in question is an older 750 , along with two 1400's and a 1050.,,, Greg., I'll check into that rubber stop when I get a replacement ,..thanks to everyone for their input,..I guess I'm not the only one who fell victim to this ph ,.. Just too bad a innocent little tang had to pay the ultimate price for something that maybe could have been avoided by a little better design,..She was really a cool little cutie who knew how to handle the grumpy old triggerfish .
__________________
Dary421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:58 PM   #828
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dary421's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego,ca
Posts: 2,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
Are you using the old ones or the new versions?
I think maybe a combo,...But ill fix that for sure with a newer version!
__________________
Dary421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:58 PM   #829
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
An ac motor shouldn't run backwards by accident. It should run backward only if u change the polarity
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:03 PM   #830
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Whether it is a single or three phase ac motor makes no difference. Same goes for a dc motor
__________________

__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.