Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2004, 01:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Coopersburg, PA
Posts: 82
Electrical Planning

Do most of you have dedicated circuits to your systems? If so, how many amps for set-ups in the 75 gallon range? I'm doing electrical planning for a 72 gallon FOWLR set-up. Any pros or cons to these approaches, dedicated circuit, shared circuit, split among >1 if possible? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
OneBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 04:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
really dont see a need for a dedicated circuit !! unless ya plan on having over and beyond the norm for pumps and lights
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 06:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
Agreed, unless the kitchen or washer and dryer are on the same circut
__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 07:24 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Most of our tanks along athat size probably draw 7-8 amps. Depending on lighting and what make/model pumps you have as well as how warm you keep your ambient temperature vs your tank temp (baiscly how long and how much your heaters have to work) will given your average amp usage.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 09:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
well i have a 12 amp on my tank. it is only for the tank. and i did it this way becasue i needed a new outlet for the tank. and all the other circuits in the area would have been at the max (12 amp).
__________________
A 46 gal bow front (Soft coral) reef tank with a 10 gal sump. And a 30 gal (SPS and Clam) reef tank hooked up to the sump of the 46 so they share water.
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 09:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
My tank runs on a dedicated breaker I installed before I setup the tank. I wanted to isolate the tank from the rest of the building in case something besides the electronics on the tank caused a breaker to trip. I would hate that a cash register or vacuum cleaner would cause my tank to go "lights out".

I also elected to install a GFI breaker at the panel. That way, no matter what I plug into the outlet I have the tank on, it is all protected by the GFI.

Oh, and it's a 20 amp breaker BTW.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 10:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 176
Send a message via ICQ to RubixCube Send a message via MSN to RubixCube
GFI. Very very important
__________________
RubixCube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:42 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
cash register
you got a cash register in your home?
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:53 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
you got a cash register in your home?

My tank in located in my business.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with electrical stuff! fishmonkey DIY Projects 9 08-09-2009 10:49 PM
Electrical current fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-29-2006 10:38 PM
Electrical Expense. sdellin Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-20-2005 01:33 PM
An Electrical Question Gauge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 01-28-2004 12:54 AM
Another electrical question c-bass Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 08-27-2003 09:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.