Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-11-2003, 09:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 56
filtration help...

The lion and trigger in my 120gal produce alot of waste and i dont think that i have enough filtration to accomodate all this waste. So far i have about 145lbs of live rock, which is my biological filtration and a tuboflotor protein skimmer in a 20 gallon sump which seems to be always foaming. I found some inline filters made by Pentair Aquatics/Lifegard. They make a "mechanical" and "chemical" filter that i was looking at. I was wondering if anyone has any expierience with these filters or if you think these would be a good idea for some added filtration...
__________________

__________________
jmh2536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 07:25 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
i dont think that i have enough filtration to accomodate all this waste. So far i have about 145lbs of live rock, which is my biological filtration
Do you hava a DSB? I do think you could stand to increase the amount of LR to around 180-200 lbs. What are your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels?

Quote:
I found some inline filters made by Pentair Aquatics/Lifegard. They make a "mechanical" and "chemical" filter that i was looking at
IMO, these filters (unless serviced often; weekly or twice weekly) will simply cause more nitrates in the system.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 56
so far my nitrates are at about a steady 20ppm, nitrites are always at 0 and my ammonia is at a steady .50ppm...
__________________
jmh2536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 56
and no i do not have DSB....i have about 2 1/2 inches of cc...
__________________
jmh2536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 06:35 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Rather than the filters, I think you would be better served by adding more LR and replacing the CC with a DSB.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 08:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 56
ok i'll probably buy some more liverock soon and i'll think about the DSB..thanks for all the advice reefrunner
__________________
jmh2536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 08:31 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
i'll think about the DSB
Duh...

I shouldn't have suggested this. Triggers are not considered DSB friendly and changing it out might cause more problems than you have with the CC. The CC is fine if you keep it vacuumed, otherwise you might think about a satellite DSB (in a seperate tank like a sump or refugium) and a SSB.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 11:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 56
ok i thought that sounded a little funny....but thanks for warning me
__________________
jmh2536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2003, 01:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norcal
Posts: 438
you never said if you have a clean up crew.
__________________
biotoxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2003, 06:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 56
no i dont have a clean-up crew...my lion and trigger would eat any invert they could find
__________________

__________________
jmh2536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 08:22 PM
Filtration awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 01-10-2007 06:15 PM
More Filtration? JDogg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-05-2006 02:43 PM
more filtration? ripvanrina General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-30-2005 10:26 PM
too much filtration I think!? jr5018 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 07-10-2004 10:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.