How do you "invite" a clown to his Anemone?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XXFirefighter

Aquarium Advice Addict
My "tank raised" (I think that was my problem) won't even go near the white Sebea. Can I do anything besides wait, hope, and pray he finds his way in there? If not Thats cool, I'll try a "natural" clown later down the road and see what happens.

As far as I know, and I'm not an anemone expert, you have to wait for the clown to make up his mind. I don't know of any way to entice the clown into the anemone.

first of all what kind of clown is it?
ive heard of people putting those little clownfish algea clips next to their anenome and their clown hosting it but....seems a little.... i guess u could say maybe that person had luck..
And third of all im sure youve hard this ,annny times but its up to the clown and nature it could be 2 months to two years, its up to the clown

Good luck with your clown hosting..i remember when my tomatos wouldnt host my sebae i wanted to just grab them and shove them in the but then i thought better of it

good luck!

Mr. Marine

That chart looks great but i didnt see a true percula(thats what he says he has in another thread) is that an "False Clown Anemonefish (Amphiprion ocellaris)"

I have 2 percs...and both are tank raised....neither has even took a second look at my bubble tip for the month that they have been in the tank. Oh well, I still love 'em. They are like little puppies, happy to see someone every single time..(as long as you are going to feed them)...LOL

From everything that I have read about these critters, tank raised clowns pretty much don't have a clue to what an anenome even is. Chances are not good they will go to the anenome. But there is always the chance that your will have it's instincts "pop" in and make a liar out of all those articles. Good luck.

Mike