Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-30-2005, 11:26 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
stusclan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: phoenix arizona
Posts: 193
Near Disaster

So, I came home from a wonderful night out with my daughters, and the lights in my kitchen are out. That means the everything in the tank is out also. So, I switch the breaker in the box (husband taught me how to do this since he travels) and I get everything back online. Ten minutes later - no lights and something is burning. My new Rio 800 ph shorted out and has burned up my power master. Everyone in the tank is very stressed - yellow tang looks grey - and clowns are hiding.

So off to Home Depot to get a new power master. Is this normal behavior for the Rio ph's? They are the best things locally - everyone here sells top fin and the other expensive, but I would never buy, garbage.
__________________

__________________
55 gal. reef. Coralife lunar lights 4 x 65, 120 lbs live rock. Remora skimmer, 3 power heads. 2 tank raise false percula,2 pajama cardinal,hermits, snails, Xenia, leathers, mushrooms, polyp frags, yellow sea cucumber, And last but not least - the miserable mantis.
Terry
stusclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 01:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
rio's are notorious for having problems. I'd rather have topfin if there were no other choices.
__________________

__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 01:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
stusclan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: phoenix arizona
Posts: 193
I can't blame the power head. As I was putting everything back together, I noticed a leak - my new phosban 150 leaks like a sieve. Water was dripping from the top ring and from the bottom seal. I've emailed Darin at Captivereefs to see what we should do. I guess the water hit the power strip and into the rio's plug. What a combination of mistakes. I'm just lucky that I noticed it before we had a big fire - once again GFCI has saved me.
__________________
stusclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 11:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI (any others?)
Posts: 148
RIOs haven't caused me any problems, I have had them in for about a year now.
__________________
maxamillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disaster phish7740 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-07-2007 06:55 PM
Near disaster! Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 06-13-2006 05:36 PM
near disaster... JG Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-11-2006 04:59 PM
Almost disaster Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 01-31-2006 07:51 AM
Disaster mattrox Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 21 01-25-2006 08:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.