Question about stonies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

c0mf0rt

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I've got a 60 gal tank... standard 55 gal sizing and a 4x65w PC lighting setup... I was told before that I might be able to get some LPS corals.... can you guys recommend some things that might do well with my setup ????

Candy cane or a hammer would be my suggestion. Those were the 1st lps I tried with similar lighting. I am sure others would be ok but those are pretty popular in my area.

I love Candy Canes, open brain corals are always cool too... I think you could keep almost any LPS you want w/ that setup depending where it's placed in your tank. I suggest you see what LPS you like and check back to be absolutely sure. HTH

I like the candy canes, brain, open brain, button coral... quite a few really....

Since I'm just getting into the stonies... I'd like to get something that's fairly hardy and will do well with my lighting.... I don't really care for the hammer all that much..

I'm also looking for something that I don't necessarily target feed or add anything else to the tank.... something that will live off the light and the "extras" floating around in the tank.......

Do you guys think I could get away with montiopora ??? I know it's a SPS... but I like the encrusting idea....

Just FYI... I've got a porite clump with christmas tree worms in it and it seems to be doing well in my tank...

Also... will the porites spread to my LR ?????

c0mf0rt said:
Do you guys think I could get away with montiopora ??? I know it's a SPS... but I like the encrusting idea....