Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2007, 10:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
Turning a 30g into a 54g.....Priceless

hey guys it me again. i got a crazy idea bruin.
i been thinkin alot and i was thinking about making my refuge bigger. i have a CPR HOB refuge currently holds about 5g. its nice and does a great job. but i got a 24g aqua pod beside my tank doin Nothing and i wanted to know what would the benefits of me making this aqua pod my refuge.
So instead of my tank holding 30g it would be 54g of total water.
i got a Idea how to do it but i am not shure if its worth doing. i was always told if its not broke dont fix it. well my current refuge work great. how would this help my tank.
__________________

__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 02:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
I don't think it will increase your microfauna population too much, if at all(depending on how it's designed). The journey through the pump on the way back to the tank would destroy much of it. Some may survive though. Fuges designed to feed the tank through gravity, whether it's a DIY tank/fuge or HOB type fuge, are best for this.

The benefit you would see is more water volume. That means greater stability. There would be less fluctuations in water chemistry, and also PWC's may not need to be done as often. Also having a larger area to grow macro algae in would allow greater export of nutrients. That, combined w/ greater water volume, means you could add more fish to the display, assuming aggression will not be an issue. HTH
__________________

__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 09:55 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I wouldn't add any more fish if you decide to do it due to oxygen being used up quickly if you had an extended power failure with an overstocked tank.

It doesn't seem you even have room for a hob overflow with your current setup and the fuge is too large to fit on the other tank.

IMO I'd stick with what you have which is easy and uncomplicated.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 10:01 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I'd use it for a QT.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 12:25 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree with Tecwzrd, about not increasing the number of fish in the display beacause of the power outages...I lost power yesterday morning at 6:10am and it didn't come back on until after 5:00pm. I was and still am concerened about how the tank is going to do with that many hours of no filtration. Furtunately I had a spare car battery that I was able to run one pump from, and my house is heated with a wood stove so temp wasn't a problem. I still had 11 hours of no filtration...very scary.

As for adding the aquapod to your system it could be done you would need a pump to get the water back up to the display and as MT said it could destroy the fauna on the way. I have my tank set up this way and really don't notice that as being much of a problem as I have tons of pods in all parts of my system.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 03:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
yea i got to think about this one. i am trying to find the ultimate filtration system. i have tryed them all from HOB bio wheels to wet-dry and i am not impressed with them. i like the natural way with the LR the most and thats why i was think of adding the aqua pod so i could add even more.
i wanted to shoot for 3times my water volume.
i will ponder on this one some more
__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 05:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tecwzrd
I wouldn't add any more fish if you decide to do it due to oxygen being used up quickly if you had an extended power failure with an overstocked tank
That is a valid point. I was told when setting up a sump you could increase your bio-load, but it does come w/ risk. I've never really thought about that. Good point.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 05:46 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
IMO...nature is the BEST filter....nothing that we can make will even come close....go natural with your filtration and you will do just fine!!!
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 11:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Good idea, but using the aquapod seems like a pretty expensive fuge, considering what else you could do with the tank (hey...don't you need another reef in a different room?) I do like the idea of adding a fuge or even a sump for added water volume and biofiltration. I think you may be able to accomplish this for a lot less $$$ while preserving your pod for something else.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 11:38 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I tend to agree with Brian on this one...it is a nice tank to have hiden under your 30...but hey...do what you need to do...
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
30 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 54g planning jaiden Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 11-17-2009 10:30 PM
54g corner...general questions frenchpea2002 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-16-2006 01:01 AM
what's a Tang-like fish for a 54g corner? jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-22-2004 03:44 PM
30" lighting fixture for a 54g corner? jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-19-2004 12:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.