varying bulb types in a reef aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

drew11588

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey fellow reefers. i have a 24 gallon jbj nano cube which has 2 x 36 watt 50/50 (10kk/ actinic). ive read that actinic bulbs are in the good range for coral photosynthesis. my question is will it benefit the corals i have in my tank if i switch out one of the 50/50 s for an actinic bulb? or do i want the white and blue light in equal amounts?

I am not an expert, I am sure on this site there will be one, but the lower the Kelvin the yellower the lighting looks but allows fast coral growth........so high K rate slower growth looks good with the colours etc if you have 10k bulb will aid growth the actinic will give the colour........personally I would leave it if it looks nice and corals are fine leave them on

i have two 65k how will that work with corals

there 25 wats for a ten gallon tank

I would leave the actinics where they are then and try and find a 10k variant for your white light........... only to help your coral growth......6.5k are okay and if it's working then leave it as is............

I personally think actinics are needed in the reef aquarium. You know the blue part of the spectrum is what penetrates into the ocean to the corals. Liveaquaria says " Actinic Bulbs - Emit light predominantly from the blue end of the color spectrum. Recreates light conditions found in deep water and provides the light energy necessary for proper photosynthetic coral growth. Actinic bulbs are ideal for reef aquariums."