Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-15-2011, 03:24 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hampton Bays, NY
Posts: 31
Water level constantly dropping

I recently added a sump to my system and now every 30 hours or so I'm having to add a gallon of water cause the pump starts sucking air and filling my tank with bubbles. The problem is there's no Lfs near me with ro water so I've been treating tap water but now I'm getting a diatom algea bloom so idk what to do I'm not noticing any leaks anywhere so I'm lost
__________________

__________________
Jbird745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 03:40 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
the pump from sump to your DT? if thats what you're having problems with, I think it might be that your pump is pumping faster than your overflow so you're slowly taking water away from your sump and filling it into your DT
__________________

__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hampton Bays, NY
Posts: 31
Well my sump has 3 chambers 1st is the drain from overflow and skimmer second is live sand rock and macro, 3rd us return the water level in here is dropping the level in the dt constantly stats the same but that last chamber drops rapidly
__________________
Jbird745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 07:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
Evaporation I'm guessing. Top off with RO/DI water other wise your algae is going to get a lot worse. My evaporation varies depending if it's dry or wet.

Steve
__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 08:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 86
Unless you have a wet floor, it's evaporation. I have a 75 gal tank with a 30 gal sump and I have been adding about a gallon a day. I'm not sure where you are but here on Ohio the weather is warming up to the point that my furnace will not be running nearly as much. The increase in humidity in my house will mean that the evaporation will slow down.
__________________
One night in Bangkok and the worlds your oyster. The bars are temples but the pearls ain't free.
Firemedic1081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 01:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
So the DT, first chamber, and second chamber is constant, but the third chamber keeps loosing water?
__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 01:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
I cut evaporation almost entirely by getting tight fitting lids on everything with a water surface for my freshwater tanks. The evaporated water stays on the glass and then turns back to water and drips back into the tank. If you don't have a leak and you've been running for a while now, there's nothing else it could be.
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 04:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Thats normal,its just evaporation,you should only see the water level drop in the return pump section,You can put a lid on the sump but not the dt.if you turn off the return pump,start topping up into the dt until the level in the sump is at its highest point you would want it in a power cut.then mark the sump with a permanent marker,plug your pump back in,when everthing has settled mark the new level.This has now given you 2 marks,the bottom mark is for topping up with RO water for evaporation,the top mark is for PWC when the pump is off.I put in about 2 gallons every 2-3 days.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dary421's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego,ca
Posts: 2,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by David S View Post
Thats normal,its just evaporation,you should only see the water level drop in the return pump section,You can put a lid on the sump but not the dt.if you turn off the return pump,start topping up into the dt until the level in the sump is at its highest point you would want it in a power cut.then mark the sump with a permanent marker,plug your pump back in,when everthing has settled mark the new level.This has now given you 2 marks,the bottom mark is for topping up with RO water for evaporation,the top mark is for PWC when the pump is off.I put in about 2 gallons every 2-3 days.
Sounds about right... Time to buy and install a ATO ,...automatic top off system,....it'll automatically add RODI water to your tank to compensate for any evaporation issues you may have,...otherwise it'll drive you nuts trying to keep up
__________________

__________________
Dary421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Level not dropping to zero philthefish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 01-10-2006 09:48 PM
water level chiefs101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-01-2006 06:40 PM
Ammonia level dropping, but Nitrite 5.0.... number2of7 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 01-01-2005 12:18 PM
Why is my tank water level dropping swanandmokashi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 06-15-2004 01:40 PM
More on water level Hara Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 03-09-2003 01:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.