Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-11-2005, 07:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Who here uses an external overflow box?

There seems to be alot of concern about external overflow boxes compared to internal overflows/drilled tanks.. I have my own opinions but I would like to hear others opinion on this subject.. And If you did decide to go with external overflow boxes why you were not overly concerned about using it.. TIA
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 09:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
I retrofitted a sump to existing, operating tank. Draining the tank for drilling would have been too stressful, so I hung an overflow on the tank. It has worked reliably for 2 years so far.
__________________

__________________
40 Gal Hex, 10 Gal Sump, CPR overflow with Mag 7 return, Maxxima 35 RO/DI, 10K MH pendant, 2 x 15W actinic, 1 yellow tail damsel, 1 high fin goby, 40lbs LR.com rock, 1 red head goby, 1 algae blenny, Leather, blastomussa, sun, and hammer corals, green polyps, carpet anemone, 2 sexy shrimp...and more LR critters than you could imagine in your worst nightmares.... Mantis in 5 gal
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tifton Ga
Posts: 660
Have you had any power outages during that time?
__________________
dax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 483
living in florida, I have had several power outtages...

as long as you plan right, with enough overflow room in your sump, you shouldnt have a problem... most overflows that I see on the markets today do not break teh siphon during power loss...
__________________
75g w/ 30g sump, 160# LR, 60# sand: Inverts =18 turbos, 30 nassirus's, 40 blue leg's, 5 emeralds, 1 CBS, 1 skunk cleaner, 1 brown gulf shrimp? and various other LR hitch hikers yet un discovered or un-ID'ed
Fish=1 yellow tang, 1 yellow headed jawfish, 1 pink/blue shrimpgoby, 2 perc clowns.
Future fish = 1 sixline, 1 lawnmower blenny
mykpoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 11:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
I have used an overflow box for over a year with no problems. I have literally watched as the power was turned off both in testing and due to 'Acts of God'. If you have your overflow setup proper, you will have no issues with everything starting back up. Its simple physics. To prevent back siphoning, you simply drill a hole in you returns, about 1/8" or so should do about 1" under the water surface. This will break the siphon and prevent a sump over flow. The 'gurgle' of an overflow is probably the most annoying thing. I have a lot of experience with mine, so I am able to tweak it out so it is all but perfectly silent.

GL
__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 03:21 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
Lifereef overflow here. I wanted a sump, and was not comfortable with drilling the tank in the middle of the living room with a Dremel due to the mess. No problems thus far and I agree with the above that with precautions you can reduce the likelihood of problems.
HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 04:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 477
I love my CPR overflow.......

reasons why I didn't drill were the same as everyone else....didn't want to drill it after the fact.
__________________
Dr.Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 04:59 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I use an external on my eel tank and have never had problems, I also have 4 j tubes stuck in there instead of the usual 2. (just to be on the safe side) I lose power about as often as I get my mail. So far so good.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 07:11 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
I've lost siphon on a few occassions, but they are almost always my own foolishness. I've never lost siphon simply due to a power failure. Usually, I mess it up when I'm sticking my arm in and out of the tank causing the tank level to rise and fall quickly.
__________________
40 Gal Hex, 10 Gal Sump, CPR overflow with Mag 7 return, Maxxima 35 RO/DI, 10K MH pendant, 2 x 15W actinic, 1 yellow tail damsel, 1 high fin goby, 40lbs LR.com rock, 1 red head goby, 1 algae blenny, Leather, blastomussa, sun, and hammer corals, green polyps, carpet anemone, 2 sexy shrimp...and more LR critters than you could imagine in your worst nightmares.... Mantis in 5 gal
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 08:39 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tifton Ga
Posts: 660
I imagine that siphon loss problem is not the same on a 180 gallon. I am planning on putting my sump (29 gallon tank) in a larger rubbermaid-type container to catch possible overflow. Does that sound like a good idea?
__________________

__________________
dax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
external, flow, overflow, overflow box

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« whew! | vho setup »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Overflow - how to start the siphoning? (pic's) 1brent1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 03-13-2011 04:13 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
External Overflow? MyMonkey Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 09-26-2005 06:05 PM
please help my external overflow box to get flowing pelochas General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-20-2005 12:54 PM
***!!!NEW!!!!*** Overflow Box Archive 11 12-23-2004 02:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.