New tank, possibly cichlids. Opinions Requested

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CatoeSc

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello. We are considering setting up a tank about 50 to 65 gallons. We don't want fish that will get terribly large, but my wife likes saltwater fish. I do to, but I don't wan to mess with a saltwater tank... At least not yet.

So, it looks like cichlids can be very pretty fish that are as colorful as saltwater. So, my question is this... I like the community aquarium. What else can I put in with the cichlids? We want the cichlids to be the feature, but I'm new at this so welcome any ideas... Even if you tell me there are better options than cichlids.

Thanks

Personally I prefer community, this way you can have a variety of fish. Also they are plenty of community fish out there that are just as good looking as cichlids.

A plecostomus is the Ono thing that will get along with cichlids, my friend had about 6 in her 60 g and all except the pleco and one bully cichlid are now dead. Try more peaceful dwarf cichlids or even gouramis, which look fairly similair and aren't so aggressive.

Is it true I could, even should, run more fish if I go with cichlids to help prevent territorial fighting? I read that the 1" of fish per gallon of water rule doesn't apply to these guys.

Well you still need to be careful, and more cichlids wand more cleaning, but more fish does make it harder for one fish specifically to be picked on. Also, change up the scenery and rearrange an aquarium with cichlids every once in awhile so they don't get too territorial. Rams should work with cichlids too, just watch for excessive bullying on one fish. If you want color, cichlids are good, but if you want something a little feisty it might be better to go with loaches or tiger barbs.