Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-29-2009, 04:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, U.K
Posts: 275
Tank cycling

I think I have stalled my tank. I started 3 weeks ago.

I had an amonia spike it went down. my nitrite went up to 3.3 mg/l its come down to 1.6 but sat there for a good 10-13 days

nitrates are currently 110 mg/lplus (thats as high as my readings can go)

I started the amonia spike of with a piece of fish in there 2cmx2cm for a week as I can't get my hands on bottled amonia. A week later I removed it. (the gf wasn't happy with the smell in the kitchen!lol)I have since then been throwing a bit of food in every other day

for 9 says now my readings have been amonia 0 to 0.6 mg/l nitrite1.6 nitrate 110 plus. ph 8 (its a good 7.5 out of the tap)

I added gravel 3 days ago from another tank in hope to "bring" some bacteria over. no effect on the readings. I have a breeder tank full for 50 plus floating around with some ever increasingly growing fry!

Have I under done it with the food and starved me friendly little bacteria?
__________________

__________________
sieski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 12:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
whats the ammonia level now? if you have a tank already you can put a filter on it move it over and put fish in. stock it slowly and keep a eye on it.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 02:38 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, U.K
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
whats the ammonia level now? if you have a tank already you can put a filter on it move it over and put fish in. stock it slowly and keep a eye on it.
The amonia comes up as between 0 to 0.6 but the nitrites are 1.6 and nitrates are 110 plus but my hagen test kit is famous for having high nitrate readings whilst the nitrites are 1 or above.
__________________
sieski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 02:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
sorry it was there i missed it. the bacteria doesnt have a food source. the food isnt breaking down yet. do you happen to have a walmart? ace hardware? ammonia is really the best and effective way.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 04:09 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, U.K
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
sorry it was there i missed it. the bacteria doesnt have a food source. the food isnt breaking down yet. do you happen to have a walmart? ace hardware? ammonia is really the best and effective way.
Nope I'm a uk user.

*update* after a few phone calls i can't get hold of bottled amonia. So i've decided against many of my better thoughts to drop a guppy in there. It's a 5gal and I'm hoping he will keep the bacteria fed and get my levels down enough for the fry to go into asap.
__________________
sieski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
just keep up with the water change and it should be fine. in qt tanks i do wc some times every day.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 09:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 632
I agree. 100% water change today (that nitrate is ridiculous) and throw the fry in there. Plan on regular water changes after that for a little while, but it sounds to me from your trends like this cycle will finish soon. Nitrate or other waste products may have built up to the point where it's inhibiting bacterial growth. It's hard to say for sure, but probably prudent to assume that's the case once the reading goes beyond the capacity of your test kit.

Lack of ammonia is not your problem if you already saw a nitrite spike and decline.
__________________
gzeiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 02:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, U.K
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzeiger View Post
I agree. 100% water change today (that nitrate is ridiculous) and throw the fry in there. Plan on regular water changes after that for a little while, but it sounds to me from your trends like this cycle will finish soon. Nitrate or other waste products may have built up to the point where it's inhibiting bacterial growth. It's hard to say for sure, but probably prudent to assume that's the case once the reading goes beyond the capacity of your test kit.

Lack of ammonia is not your problem if you already saw a nitrite spike and decline.
well i didn't drop a guppy in there because I thought most likely this might not make it. WHich one do i like the least out of you lot. I couldn't bloody pick!

Well I done the 100% water change tested an hour later and got between 0.3 and 0.8 mg/l on the nitrite (right in between the 2 colours!).

Thats alot better than 5!!!!!!!!!!
ph 7.5
nitrate 10
ammonia 0
I'll test It tomorrow and in 3 days to see if rising. If not I'll put the fry in. If not they will have to become angel fish food for a friend as I have another female guppy days away from birth!

What I have learnt from this is not to rely on people who say "i'll sort my old tank out and have them off you when they are born" only to ask 3 weeks later you sorted your tank? "nah can't be bothered yet"
__________________
sieski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 04:04 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 632
If you're taking that approach, you really do need to add an ammonia source. 3 days is too long for the Nitrosomonas to survive without food.
__________________
gzeiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 04:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, U.K
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzeiger View Post
If you're taking that approach, you really do need to add an ammonia source. 3 days is too long for the Nitrosomonas to survive without food.
Well I'll check it tomorrow and if levels are still fine I'll chuck a guppy in then and check it in a few days

I've noticed I got 2 fry that fell through breeding tank and into main tank. They are almost double the size of the ones in the breeder. Will they cath up?
__________________

__________________
sieski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, tan, tank cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycling my tank joe&rae Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-28-2009 12:11 AM
Cycling new tank! help please! virus Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 07-08-2005 01:09 AM
Tank Cycling boo_boo_1980 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 03-10-2005 01:21 PM
cycling a new tank with established tank methods? Mazdaman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-17-2005 05:32 PM
New Tank Cycling andyhill99 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-21-2003 01:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×