HELP - moved into house with small garden pond

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shw104

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I just moved into a house located near Baltimore Maryland. The house has a 3-4' round, goldfish pond with 5 medium sized (4-6") fish.

I have no experience with outdoor ponds and have not been left any information on the upkeep of this pond. I do have experience with freshwater aquariums but nothing outside.

The pond is roughly 3-4' round and 12" deep or so. It is located in a very shaded area and has no chemicals or treatment in the water. It has a small pump & filter but no heater of any kind. All of the fish seem healthy.

Questions:
1. do I, or should I be treating the water with something? Algae doesn't seem to be a problem but there are a good bit of leaves, etc in the bottom. The previous owner would drain and clean the pond once/year in the spring. The pond gets very little direct sunlight.

2. What type of heater should I get for the winter? Do I need one?

3. Any other advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank!!!
Scott

If you can run a FW Aquarium you can run a pond. Ponds are easier, less "rules" than aquariums.

#1, you do not need to treat water. Period. The only time I treat water is if I have a sick fish. Algea shouldnt be a prob since its in the shade.

#2. what type of fish do they have in there? If its the normal goldfish/koi you do not need a heater. I do not know how bad your winters are, will the pond ice up? Down here just the top few inches ice up. As long as the fish will have swimming room under the ice it will be fine. If it will ice up all the way you might need a heater (Stock tank heater, you pond is small enough).

#3 Like i said if you have done FW aquariums, a pond is a breeze. The only real maintaince is changing filters, trimming plants, feeding fish, etc.