Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-29-2008, 12:33 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
Arrow Algae Break Please HELP

My 10gallon tank seems to be running fine all the levels seem to be under controll but i have a major algae break out. I bought a crab but it seems that the algae is too much for him. Any sugestions? I was also wondering what i could do to help my Zoo's reproduce is there anything i can do to encourage it to replicate?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SDC10105.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	15906   Click image for larger version

Name:	SDC10103.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	15907  

__________________

__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:16 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
Algae problem?

what do i do to controll this massive algae bloom in my 10g?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SDC10105.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	15904   Click image for larger version

Name:	SDC10103.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	15905  

__________________

__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
What exactly are your levels? "Under Control" means different things to different folks. And what type of algae are we talking about here?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
As I mentioned in your other posts, specific water parameters (the numbers) will help start things off.

Just in looking at where the algae is located, I'm *guessing* that maybe that area of your tank is a "dead spot" where you don't get much flow? Or that's the area that all the debris and uneaten food collect? What do you have for fish, and what do you have for water flow in there?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
I will get back to you on the levels and it seems to be a green algae and a red algae not sure... i posted the picture to see if anyone recognized them...
__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:40 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
I am feeding spectrum and live rotifers. I have a Maderin and a clown. The flow seems to be fine and i feed every3 days and try not to overfeed.
__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:45 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
OniTweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 276
Do you have the tank in direct sunlight? That could be a culprit to the issue.
__________________
8G Biocube - Local Hawaiian Livestock Only
OniTweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 166
no it is in a dark room and the lights are only running 6 hours a day. I recently lowered from 8 to try to bring algae under control
__________________
Alexrd09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:49 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
OniTweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 276
Well here is some advice. Take a read through this article. This website is great of full advice.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...nks/Page1.html
__________________
8G Biocube - Local Hawaiian Livestock Only
OniTweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:55 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexrd09 View Post
... The flow seems to be fine ...
OK... but exactly are you using to push the water around with - like powerhead brands and models, and quantities? Just like water parameters, things like "fine" just don't give us anything to sink our teeth into when it comes to problem solving.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, 10 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally my 10G FWT and soon 10G SWT twism10000 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 10-14-2008 08:49 PM
Need a good plant to beat algae in a 10g 99RedSi Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 06-16-2005 01:40 PM
Algae problem in a 10g 99RedSi Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 06-15-2005 06:44 PM
algae in 10g tetrin Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 02-27-2005 11:51 PM
Algae Out Break Rxblade123 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 12-01-2004 11:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.