bio balls or Matrix

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CircleOfLinks

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys,

bout to start putting fish into my tank again after going through some major problems... The new LFS that ive been going to is saying that bio balls are bad for the tank and i should replace them with 7-10KG of MATRIX (crushed corrals) is this true?

Also they said its very important that i have a skimmer running even though im not planning on putting any corrals or anemones is this also true?

sorry for all the questions but im new to saltwater setups and ive been getting everyones advice here which has been very help

thanks heaps

A skimmer is always a good idea. It will keep a lot of the nasty crap out of your water and make cleaning much easier for you

First, what size tank do you have, anything under 30g would be fine with just weekly PWC's.
Bio balls are bad, coral rubble is a better solution.

My tank is about 80gallons or 310 liters.

Coral is so expensive @ $350 for 10 kg so i was hoping there would be a cheaper option for now.

So the bio balls are bad in what way? The person at the LFS said that if i keep the bio balls i need to keep adding chemicals and that it becomes more expensive in the long run. Im thinking that might be better for now since i wont need to out lay the $350 now plus the $185 for 20kg of live rock (which i need to still order aswell) that would bring my tank to about the 30kg of live rock.

Bioballs trap a lot of debris and just turn into a nitrate factory.