Clownfish eggs found!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tundar

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've just found Clownfish (Percula) eggs in my 60 G tank. They were layed on top of one of my water pumps. One Clown is guarding the eggs (I assume is the male) while the female is never too far. I'm relatively new to this situation. I've had my tank running for about 5 yrs now and I believe this is the first time this has happened. I also have a Hippo Tang, Coral Beauty Angel, 2 convict Blennys and a whole lot of Blue Leg Crabs.

My question is should I just leave everything as is or should I take some precautions for those fry when they hatch. I know that if I leave everything as is, most of those little guys will perish but isn't that the way of the jungle ... or ocean... you all know what I mean.

What do you guys with experience think.

Thanks

Rearing the fry is possible, but it's pretty involving. You would need to remove the eggs from the main and setup a separate tank specifically for the purpose of raising the fry. Care has to be taken when choosing equipment, pumps can easily kill them. And AFAIK you would also need to cultivate your own rotifers for food, unless you could buy them. There is not enough, if any, plankton in an aquarium for them to survive to adulthood. There is info available online if your still interested. Most people just leave them in the tank to become food for other fish and/or coral.

My clowns have been laying eggs regularly for about a year now, I just let them go. Like Mike said, you can raise them, but its a lot of work and time consuming, and they need lots and lots of food that you usually have to grow yourself.

Congrats anyways! The clowns will likely lay again in about 2-3 weeks, so if you decide to try and rear them you should have plenty more opportunities.