Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2014, 04:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Cycling question?

High I have a 60g aquarium and I have just set it up and am keeping a close eye on my cycling process. I set the tank up on January 1st and The cycling process has gone quite fast I did use some start up bacteria and as of recent my nitrites have dropped off and I'm waiting for the nitrates to come down. My ph is a bit high but within the recommended range. My question is on how long do I need to hold off before doing the first water change? I do not plan to add any fish or frags for at least 1 more month.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 06:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
Your nitrates won't comedown by themselves, that's what a large water change is for. If you have seen the rise and fall of ammonia and nitrites, then I would say you are cycled
__________________

__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 08:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
But should I alow for more growth of beneficial bacteria before doing a water change it has only been almost 3 weeks?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 08:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Just don't know if I should wait it out a little more and see if the nitrates will come down a bit more.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 09:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
The nitrates won't go down by themselves, you need to manually remove them. It is only ammonia and nitrites that will drop to zero of their own accord when the cycle is done did you see a spike in amm and nitrite?
__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 09:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
I was only able to test 1 time a week because I was working out of town. My first test showed high ammonia and the next test showed low ammonia and last weekend I brought a a sample to my f/s and they told me the nitrites were 0 ammonia was 0 and nitrates were a bit high.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 09:44 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
We have a great article about this in our sw articles section.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lstimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 197
Yup, water change time, your cycle is over!
__________________
lstimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Yeah did it. Since the post did first water change, tested and everything was perfect. I put a small zoanthid frag in and it looks great so bought a second one today it's looking good so far it opened up immediately after putting it in my tank. I have a bit of brown algea. Next week I will buy my clean up crew then I'll let it set for a month before adding anything else.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish-in Cycling: Step over into the dark side. jetajockey Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 55 10-15-2016 03:22 PM
Cycling question :/ ch-b Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-18-2013 11:35 AM
Please help! Alec18 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-24-2013 10:58 AM
Saltwater (fishless) cycling and protein skimmer question Gunk Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 10-14-2011 03:11 PM
Question about cycling and bacteria Supra Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 09-29-2011 02:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.