First Saltwater Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SHANONK

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to saltwater but have had freshwater tanks before. I started a 60 gallon Hectagon tank. I asked the local fish store to help me get started. The temp 78% and Salt level is 1.022 within the range I am told. They said to only run the sand filter and I have an extra powerhead to move the water at the bottom. 2 bags of live sand and rocks (from the store not live yet). Then I added 4 bottles of bacteria from fish guy (in a couple of days). Then I added 5 damsels and was told they will cycle the tank in 30 days. I was going to give him water sample in 10 days to check. Well 2 Damsels were gone by morning and the other 3 the next day. I called fish guy and he said the water must be contaiminated by us filling it up (perfume, cologne, or something). Any advice or comments much appreciated.