Help Me Grow into a reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ptchfork

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all, I'm a newbie of sorts and I was wondering if you"pros" could give me a little advice. I have a 46 gallon bow front, right now it's FOWLR, with a few hermits, snails, and emerald crabs. I'd like to grow into a mini - reef, nothing too serious, maybe some mushrooms, feather dusters, and anomies. My question is how to go about this. I need to figure out what equipment I need and budget it out over the next year.
Right now I have a wet/dry filter a red-sea prizim skimmer, approx 35 lbs of LR, a purple tang, 2 clowns, 1 royal grama, and a coral beauty. Any suggestions? Anything at all would be really appreciated....

PS - here's some pictures of my tank... http://members.aol.com/ptchfork/Tankmain.html

Thanks!! :p

What is your lighting setup? With a 46 gallon your setup wouldn't really be considered a "mini-reef" you could have full blown reef tank. If you have low lighting then you may need to upgrade. Otherwise, you could add some more LR, test kits for calcium and alkalinity, some Ca and alk supplements and you would be good to go. Does the tank have good flow, a couple of powerheads? Anemones are difficult to keep and usually short lived in captivity. The only other thing to note is the coral beauty may nip at corals...something to consider if you are very attached to it.

Right now, the light set up I have is the one I bought the tank with. (Sorry, I should have learned more going into it, but it was a wedding gift from my beloved, and I just got swept into it all) Anyway they're two florescent bulbs, I guess 30 wts. I've read about the PC lights, and I didn't know if I needed all this for the tank I was imagining.