New 55 gal tank set up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dan55G

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
About to pick up my new 55 gallon tank!!! Need some advice on a filter. Another site recommended a 110 gal filter. Any advice or tips would be great!!!

Dan55G said:
About to pick up my new 55 gallon tank!!! Need some advice on a filter. Another site recommended a 110 gal filter. Any advice or tips would be great!!!

You would want a filter that is rated for at least twice the size of your tank.

Hello! Welcome to the forum!

It's always better to overfiltrate than not have enough.

Are you gonna run a sump in the future or just a hang on or canister filter?

To tell you the truth I'm not that familiar with a sump filter. I'm just working with a 25 gal tank now so I'm a complete newbie. I have a small hang on back filter now, which is obviously not capable of handling a 55 gallon tank. From the quick reading I did on sump filters it seem like the way to go. But also seems like the most complicated.
Would I have to drill a hole in my tank for a sump filter?

Dan55G said:
To tell you the truth I'm not that familiar with a sump filter. I'm just working with a 25 gal tank now so I'm a complete newbie. I have a small hang on back filter now, which is obviously not capable of handling a 55 gallon tank. From the quick reading I did on sump filters it seem like the way to go. But also seems like the most complicated.
Would I have to drill a hole in my tank for a sump filter?

Not at all. You can use an overflow box.

I have both a drilled and an overflow box on tanks, IMO drilled tanks are a lot easier to plumb and less noisy. I am thinking about taking down the tank with the overflow just so I can get it drilled.

Canister filters I stay away from them they seem to cause a lot of nitrates.