Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2006, 01:06 PM   #1
Tex
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 228
New ro/di unit

I purchased this ro/di unit. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN%3AIT&rd=1

I paid $138 shipped to door from Taiwan. Ordered last Thursday night and received it Wednesday. Wow!

I installed it last night under the kitchen sink and mounted the faucet on the sink. I piped it in exactly as the instructions showed. There are only 4 lines to hook up: Cold water supply, wastewater, a line to the tank and the final line (after the last stage) to the faucet. I can't seem to get the tank to fill and can't get much more than a trickle from the faucet. I have zero experience with an ro/di unit. Am I doing something wrong?

The instructions weren't very good and seemd to be full of contradictions. If I understand this right I open the valve in the wastewater line so water flows through filter. Then I turn on the faucet for pure water.

I was hoping somebody with some ro/di experience could comment.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 22-11_118.jpg (56.4 KB, 32 views)
__________________

__________________
7 month old 100 gallon. Hopefully on my way to a great reef tank. A few small fish and a few small soft corals. T5 HO Lights and ro/di unit.
Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 02:00 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
I've never set up an RO unit with a tank so I may be mistaken, but where you said "a line to the tank and the final line (after the last stage) to the faucet. " doesn't seem right to me. It would seem the last line should be from the tank to the faucet so that the RO unit fills the tank and the faucet always has a preasurized source of water.

Just remember i've never set up one with a tank so I could be wrong.
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 02:05 PM   #3
Tex
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 228
This afternoon I'll scan the connection digram and post it here. That should help.

Scanned the digram and can't get it to post to this website. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. I saved it a s tinly 14.5K jpeg files. Hmmm.....
__________________
Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 09:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I never used a tank either and I think Bill is right.. the last stage should be the DI water which you want for your fish. the ro water is for drinking and that should go to the tank..
Just so you know a ro/di units produces a very low amout of water and the waste line is cranking out water..
It around a 5 to 1 .. 5 gal bad to 1 gal good..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 11:20 PM   #5
Tex
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 228
I'm convinced I have the thing piped right. Checked, double checked and triple checked and it seems now that I might get 4 gallons an hour which puts me near the rated output. Maybe I was confused at how much would come out of the faucet. Somehow I expected a much greater flow rate. 100 GPD is only 4.2 gallons per hour. I'm probably getting that, I'll measure it for sure.

Still can't figure out why the holding tank won't fill up. And, important question, does the the wastewate discharge have to be opened while you are capturing your pure water?
__________________
7 month old 100 gallon. Hopefully on my way to a great reef tank. A few small fish and a few small soft corals. T5 HO Lights and ro/di unit.
Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2006, 12:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
waste line needs to always be open..
You may not have enough pressure to fill the tank?
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 01:56 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 174
I set up that same ro/di unit this past weekend.I have to keep the drain line closed to fill the tank and get some good pressure.Takes about 2-6 hours to fill tank for first time.Drain out your first full tank though.
__________________
choupic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 02:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jasno999 Send a message via MSN to jasno999
If you have a tank that is pressurized to begin with or it is a closed sustem than as water fills it up it will becoem pressurized and at some point you may not have enough water pressure to continue filling the tank. I would think that there should be some type of presure release valve or way to open the tank so that air is allowed to escape while water comes in and then when the water reaches the top the valve closes off so that water can not escape.

Not sure how it works in that respect. But if you cloe off your disscharge water line you are goign to jsut get crappy water out of the good line cause the crap will have noplace to go. YOu always need the disscharge line open and flowing free.
__________________
jasno999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 04:25 PM   #9
Tex
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 228
That's a great thought. The tank has a schraeder valve just like a car tire. I think I'll bleed the pressure, see if the tank fills and then air the tank back up to the recommended 6 to 8 PSI.

I still very confused on the whole waste water thing. I'm confused because the directions are very misleading. If I leave the waste valve open the water pressure/flow out of the faucet trickles to a stop after a few seconds. If I leave the valve closed the pressure gradually builds to where I get a decent trickle out of the faucet. I think I understand the concept of the waste line. But, here's what I don't get, if I leave the valve closed 100% of the water is forced through all the filter stages and the filter elements trap all the nasties. (At least that's what I think) With the waste valve is open at least 3 or 4 times as much water goes down the drain as I get in ro/di water.

FYI - my city water pressure is outstanding. The water from the shower head will put your eye if you're not careful.

My specific questions to ro/di users:

1. Do you leave you waste valve open when making water?
2. If I leave waste valve shut am I really filtering properly?
3. Am I just insane?
__________________
7 month old 100 gallon. Hopefully on my way to a great reef tank. A few small fish and a few small soft corals. T5 HO Lights and ro/di unit.
Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 10:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jasno999 Send a message via MSN to jasno999
I think you need the waste line open in order to filter properly. If there is no waste water out to carry out the bad stuff (dissolved solids) then where do you think it is going to end up???
__________________

__________________
jasno999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ro/di unit vsnsofadrgn Archive 4 01-23-2007 12:33 PM
ro/di unit scrmom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-19-2006 02:17 PM
RO/DI unit??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-15-2006 05:40 PM
RO unit DI ?? OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-07-2006 08:25 PM
I have an RO unit. Do I really need a DI ? Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-15-2005 11:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.