newbie question - what filters should i use for nano 28g?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mike2016

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hello everyone, i'm a newbie here..this is my 2nd saltwater tank and i'd like to get some suggestions....

i have 4 fish(1 clown, 1 small blue tang, 1 naso blonde tang, 1 small cubic puffer), some corals (3 frags), 1 annemone, 6 hermit crabs, and about 15lbs of live rock, 15lbs of live sand in this tank.

what type of filter should I use for the stock media basket of the nano cube?

i currently have the stock sponge filter, then carbon and ceramic rings. i'm always worried that the stock filter media is too small and won't get all the crap out fast enough for the number of livestocks in my tank.

Welcome to AA Mike. I'm more worried about your fish ATM. Both those tangs need to be in 6ft tanks regardless of their size for two reasons. One they are always swimming and need lots of room and two they are very heavy waste producers and could quite easily pollute your tank enough to kill your other inhabitants and even themselves.
What kind of lighting do you have over your tank? The anenome might not be getting enough light.
Also I think the same goes for your puffer, it might not have enough room either. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. :(

Reactions: HN1
Welcome to AA! :)

That is good information above. Do you have any liverock?

:puppydogeyes: It's tooo early... I guess I should wait to read boards until I'm a bit more caffinated.

I dont think anything you could fit in a 28 would really provide adequate filtration for those fish. I recommend moving those tangs and the puffer out asap. I don't know what a cubic puffer is, but it probably should not be in 28g.

I'm with mitchell, i'm also a bit worried about the nem too.