Ok....some questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sweetshannon

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone!
I have a 26 gallon tank collecting dust in my garage. I would love to get started in saltwater with rock. I have my heart set on a few clowns with an anemone. I realize that this is a LONG way out....but that's OK.
I want to start slowly and let the tank mature for a long while.
Ok, so where do I start? If I am doing live rock with a protein skimmer, do I still need a canister?
I saw some marcorock on ebay, being this is "cycled", will I need to add ammonia to get my cycle started? I don't want to use fish....Just so you know, I am familiar with the nitrogen cycle, as I have been keeping ranchu for a few years, but now amazon puffers.
should I start the cycle with tap water, being there are no fish in there? Or do I start with water from the fish store?
And for WAY in the future....is there a sure fire way to be sure an anemone and fish will host? Is that saying it right?
The guy at the LFS said to wait until the had new clowns and an anemone arrive together and see which fish is willing to go into the anemone....does this sound right? That's alot.....Hope I don't sound silly!

I would rinse the tank with a vinegar and water solution before you do anything with it. There is no garruntee that clowns will host anything. No protein skimmer needed as pwc will accomplish the same thing on tanks under 30 gallons. No cannister filter needed as live rock will be your biological filtration source. I would cycle the tank even though the rock contains bacteria, just to be sure. Buy a RO/DI unit and use the filtered water from it instead of tap water as tap water could contain harmful chemicals and other things. As I sai before, a clown may not host an anemone. Hope this helps.