Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2013, 08:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
george9617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 95
I'm looking for the perfect aproach to having a crystal clear, coraline covered display tank. My usual aproach has been to use ro water, an over sized skimmer, and a couple of 100 wat 6500k lights in sump over algae scrubber. Even with all this I would still get slight algae growth on glass only. For display I had zoomed HO t5s 10000k and 420 actinic......
New setup will consist of ro water 100 gallon skimmer, remote deep sand bed, bigger algae scrubber (not sure on lighting yet) along with gfo gram per gallon.display lighting two reg t5s same styles as last and old 2 old HO from last setup ...any flaws or advise in this setup I need perfection. Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
george9617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 12:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
george9617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 95
Bump
__________________

__________________
george9617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 12:02 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
There is a thread "best way to spread coralline" which will most likely answer your question.

Best way to spread coralline
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
george9617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 95
Ty but not really loking for that info just wanna avoid nuisance algae and diatoms from apearing in the display. Am I going about this the right way srry if I confused
__________________
george9617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:00 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Maybe the lighting but I think you have the right set up! It will delelope in a month or 2!
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:14 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
george9617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 95
could u specify please, not sure how u mean.
__________________
george9617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
I think your lighting is not as strong as it could be... metal halides or leds are the way to go. I think youhave the right set up and all the right pieces... just takes time
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:20 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by george9617 View Post
Ty but not really loking for that info just wanna avoid nuisance algae and diatoms from apearing in the display. Am I going about this the right way srry if I confused
Oh sorry. If it's a new tank, these things almost always occur. Diatoms feed off of silicates which can come from the sand (being stirred) and/or your water source. Nuisance algae feeds off of nitrates and phosphates. RO/DI water has zero TDS while RO has dissolved solids which the algae thrives on. To overcome the algae, use RO/DI if possible, cut down on light, feed less/try to strain all the water and make sure no food is going to waste, and do larger more frequent water changes. Your nitrates and phosphates will most likely read zero right now, but that is because the algae is using it up.
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:32 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
george9617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 95
D: did not know ro water has tds. I need to shop for a unit and get it over with . Thanks for ur input
__________________

__________________
george9617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.