Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-12-2006, 04:45 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Va Beach, Virginia
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to chizzle
I shall explain the simpliest way possible...

Cycling with a cocktail shrimp from the grocery store is the best way to go. The advice she gave you is out of date. We now realize it is cruel & inhumane for the fish to go through the cycling process. The shrimp is doing the same thing as the fish would be though - it is providing the bacteria something to feed off of & therefore creating ammonia, then nitrites, and finally nitrates. The bacteria doesn't care if it is a dead shrimp, or fish poop, it just needs something to break down.

As far as hyposalinity goes, I don't see the point in this. Once you are done cycling you will just have to raise your salinity back to more natural living levels. Maybe she suggested this so you wouldn't have to worry as much about acclimination, but that is still not a good idea.
Feel free to correct me if I am wrong, though.

HTH
__________________

__________________
chizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 06:07 PM   #42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks i think i understand it now.

do sponge filters need to be connected to a power head?

is there anything in general you want me to know about adding sand live, rock, ect?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 09:13 PM   #43
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Sponge filters are the sponges in the filters. I think you are talking about a sponge filter covers the intake of a ph to keep you critters from getting sucked in.
As for sand, rinse it, put it in a bucket, fill, stir, pour out the top of the water, repeat 3-5 times. I just did 240Lbs of it today, so it's not that hard.
LR, shift it to the bottom of the tank, so when you get sand stirrers/borrowers, so they don't get under the LR and topple it.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 11:06 PM   #44
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
its not possible to cycle a tank without sand and rock right?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 02:03 PM   #45
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
It is possible.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 02:04 AM   #46
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
how would i do that so i could add sand and lr later?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 09:50 AM   #47
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
You would have to have a HOB filter or sump with media for bacteria to cultivate in like sponge, bio-balls, bio-wheel, ect...

Cycling with lr would be much more beneficial then other media because the other medias tend to collect waste easier which leads to excess no3 levels.

I would wait personally till you can do it with sand/lr.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 10:50 AM   #48
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ok i will hold off a little longer
should i cycle the quarentine tank the same time as the the main tank or sooner?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:26 AM   #49
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Definitely sooner, so you can QT your new additions while you are waiting for your tank to cycle, that way you have some time to decide what you want to add....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 10:30 PM   #50
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
do sponge filters move water? or is it just there to house bacteria?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.