All you algae-eater experts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

verucaproduce

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I need your advice. I am looking for an algae-eater that stays relatively small for my 29 gallon with a pH of 8.0. I am looking for something 'fancy schmanzy'...not your ordinary bristlenose. So far I have been told that a CAE might fit the bill. Any other suggestions?

Thanks!

I'm no expert, but if you are trying to keep a peaceful community tank I wouldn't choose the CAE. I hear they can become aggressive as they grow bigger. How about a rubberlip, or clown pleco? A lot of people here say that clowns don't eat much algae, but mine does an ok job for my 29 gallon. My LFS had a tiger pleco a few weeks ago, don't know much about them but they look really cool and I think they stay small enough. :D

I wouldn't choose the CAE. I hear they can become aggressive as they grow bigger.
That is my main concern about the CAE. My stocking list is going to be something like cherry barbs, endlers, and maybe a pearl gourami. I do want to keep it peaceful.

Do you find that your clown produces LOTS of waste? I have read that they need driftwood too. Is that correct?

Also, with the otos I have been advised that my pH is too high for them. I had three for quite a few months and all was well until a platy went renegade and started picking at them. I think their wounds got infected and they didn't make it.

Perhaps shrimp would work for you, such as the amano shrimp. Althouhg I am not sure if they'd be compatible with barbs.

shrimps eat algae??? :roll: Im trying to solve the same problem in my 29 gal ...too much brown algae :(