Fishless Cycle Frustrations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kfoster

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,
This is going to be a long post, I apologise, but I could use some help and advice for anyone willing to read on.

I am new to the fishless cycling regime. I have had fish in the past, but never did the fishless cycle until I heard about how beneficial and humane it is for your future pets, and I'm all about being humane.

I know there is no such thing as a stupid question, but I have a feeling this may be one. So here it goes, I appreciate any constructive information, and I may end up answering the question as I go.

I am wanting to house a male beta fish in a 10 gallon, filtered, unplanted, heated tank. I have everything, minus the fish. It's a beautifully useless tank at the moment.

I started my fishless cycle a month ago, and my testing kit for nitrates/nitrites (API test strips) have never tested positive.

I add my ammonia (Brand: Old Country) to 4ppm, and followed the steps; set up the tank, heater turned up, no lights on, dropped water level to let filter make bubbles, test every few days.
---A note that I did not have any seeding material, so I started from just the ammonia, and added a bit of fish food to the tank.

Eventually the ammonia started to drop and I got excited, I know the nitrites take some time to show up. I tested anyway, and nothing (but I wasn't discouraged). So I continued to dose up my ammonia to 4ppm, and if it got around 0.5-1ppm I topped it up to 4 again.

Now it's been a month, as I said, and I have never got a reading for nitrites or nitrates.
BUT... I saw brown algae in my tank, a lot of it. Which means there are nitrates present, I thought?! Am I wrong?

Anyway, I did a water change, topped ammonia back up to 4ppm.