High Nitrogen Levels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bsracer1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone, I'm a bit new to the aquarium world. I admit that it's a lot more work than I thought.

I'm having trouble with a new tank. It's about 3 months old. The first two weeks were fish free. I wanted to get things cycled in and established before adding fish. It is a 29 gallon with 12 Tiger Barbs and one Mollie.

Everything looked great until my ammonia levels spiked. Found for some reason it was my Marimos. I removed them and all went back to normal. About a month later my Nitrites and Nitrates spiked. I've been doing daily pwc's (usually 25%) and barely making a dent in it. I cut way back on feeding, removed all plants, cleaned the tank in stages as not to disturb too much of the bacteria beds at once. I can't for the life of me figure out why my levels are so high.

I prepare my water before I start my water changes. I use Seachems prime and safeguard and some stresscoat+ to treat the water. Then I test it with my master test kit.

What am I doing wrong or missing?

Photos show before water change, after 75% water change and 4 hours later after another 50% water change.

Thanks in advance for any help.20180609_090359.jpg20180609_092642.jpg20180609_122154.jpg

What kind of filtration are you using? Sounds like it might not be completely cycled. How big are your water changes?

I'm using a Penguin Bio wheel 200. I bought this tank as a kit. It is 29 gallon kit from Marineland.

When I'm doing my weekly cleaning I do approximately a 30% water change. I alternate every other week between cleaning the gravel and replacing one of the filters (I run two filters medias). Each filter gets replaced every other time.