Is my fishless cycle cycling?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chykityta

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all, I am new to the hobby and been doing lots of research.

I started fishless cycling a freshwater tank on 1/29. It was a new tank so I just wiped it, cleaned and boiled the gravel, added decorations, and added water with API tap water (thought that Prime was counter productive to what I wanted to accomplish). The tank is a GloFish 10 gallon (kit). I am testing with the Ammonia and 6-in-1 test strips.

I use 10-12 drops of 10% ammonia solution when adding ammonia and I also crush like 5 flakes of food and add them to the tank.

Once I started seeing ammonia going down on week 2, I bumped it back up. By 2/10, the water got yellowish from the tannings on cholla wood I added -even though I soaked them on a separate bowl with tank water- so I did a 50% PWC and added more ammonia. My LFS recommended that I let it drop to zero before adding any more.

On a desperate attempt, I added TetraSafe last Sunday 2/15 and like 10 pieces of gravel from my LFS on a bag directly in front of the filter intake. I have a Java Fern and an Anubias Congensis I got last week as well attached to the cholla wood. The problem is that I thought the ammonia was going down, but it isn't. I thought I read 0.5 last night and it is at 3 today. PH is between 7.8 and 8.4 so don't think that the PH is the cause. Note that in none of the reading have I seen traces of Nitrites or Nitrates; always zero.

Hi chykityta:

What is your current water temperature? Since you're doing a fishless cycle you can bring temp up quite high, around 85 or so; this will help encourage the growth of the nitrifying bacteria.

Does your filter do a good job of agitating and turning over the tank water? I ask because aeration is also a factor in fostering the bacterial growth.