Need advice on ammonia levels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shirleyi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi
I am a newbie with two aqauriums as of 3 and 4 weeks ago . I bought a little one a half gallon tank from petco, and two guppies as they are hardy for starters. The first guppy died a day later but I think she was not swimming right to begin with . I went to petsmart to buy another guppy to keep the other company ,and the second guppy died the day after that . The third guppy from petsmart is doing fantastic well into 3 weeks ,but I am testing and my water is always at 2.0 ammonia .
Meanwhile I had set up to be a fishless cycling on my 20 gallon tank and bought all the necessary items to place into the tank . Heater ,ornaments bubble wand everything to get started and I added a bottle of tetra safe start to add bacteria.
I have done partial water changes on my big tank to try and bring the levels of ammonia down with no luck ,I even did a big water change and it is still 2.0 . I also added ammo-lock to the small tank so my guppy will not be affected but I know this only makes it non toxic and does not cure the ammonia problem .
So then I tested waters ,first my Tap water which registers 2.0 so that is why the water in both tanks are showing ammonia . I tested my refrigerator water which has a filter and that said 1.0 Ammonia . Then I tested bottled water which registers O Ammonia .

So yesterday I went out and bough multiple gallons of bottled water and thought I would change a good percentage like 80 percent in both tanks . After a few hours of cycling the little tank read no ammonia . The big tank read 0.25 ammonia . Today I took the reading of the small tank with the one guppy , and it reads 0.50 ammonia, and the big tank still reads 0.25 ammonia which is the fishless cycling tank .