new to cycling...need some advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sahabo

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I'm just a newbie who didn't do enough research before getting my betta and trusted the guy at my LFS (big mistake:mad:). Had I done my homework, I would have opted to cycle my tank before adding the betta. Needless to say, that didn't happen. And so, like many other newbie situations, my betta is toughing it out while I learn about proper care.

This morning I tested the water and got the first ammonia reading since I've had my betta - .25ppm. NitrIte was 0. I immediately did a 25% water change. Then I tested the ammonia again and it seemed to be somewhere between 0 and .25. I mean it was hard to tell...there was just the tiniest bit of green in the yellow. Then I had to run to work. Should I do another partial change when I get home this afternoon?

As long as you can keep the Ammonia levels below 0.5ppm you're doing well. I wouldn't worry overly about a result between 0 and 0.25ppm, just keep an eye on it.

Thanks Purrbox. Being new to this hobby, I am, of course, constantly worrying that I am doing some that wrong that will kill my new companion! It's interesting, because I've heard different advice on ammonia levels when first cycling the tank. Someone one AA posted in the getting started/common newbie pitfalls thread: