Some Information and Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dangora

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I am new to the site and generally new to the hobby. I am going to try and give as much information as possible. I will start out with my story and then put some factual lists at the bottom. Bear with me.

I was walking through the pet store one day (I unfortunately have to go to the big chain stores - Petsmart or Petco - for there is nothing else close to me) and saw a ten gallon fish tank with a hood and filter for like $20. I was excited and couldn't resist but to buy the tank. I brought the tank home with some gravel and waited for my next pay check to pick up the next items I would need (I'm a high school student working at a grocery store, so I get little pay and few hours). I then bought some plants, a net, and a thermometer. That day, I set up my tank by first straining the gravel, then I put a plate in the tank, added tap water - about two thirds of the tank, put in the plants and thermometer, and filled the rest of the tank. Then I went to buy some lights, food, and a chemical kit that was on clearance (less than helpful). I added the kit, installed the lights, and let the tank "cycle" for a week. Unfortunately I did not research first, which I'm finding out now was a mistake. I brought in a sample of my water and the nitrate (I believe it was the nitrate) was high so the woman suggested stress coat. I left that in for 48 hours, brought the water back and the only problem was that the water was a little too soft, but she said that would not have a significant effect on the fish. I purchased two healthy looking Dwarf Gouramis and an Albino Cory Catfish, and let them sit in the bag in the tank for half an hour. I have a bucket specifically for my aquarium so i dumped the fish into the net over the bucket and immediately added