Is my montipora sick?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

flyerfridge01

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just noticed a small white patch on the top of my montipora. Is this it dying or being sick? I am new to hard corals and could really use some advice on this one!ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1398736356.458409.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1398736356.458409.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1398736447.124958.jpg

How long have you had it? The whitish edges show the coral is still growing. I'm wondering if it is wounded on the backside from the fragging process.

I have had him for about 3 weeks. I just moved him to the bottom of the tank for fear of bleaching beginning.

Take a turkey baster to it or gently wave some water at it...I have this all the time on my monti. If it is what happens in my tank, you have found yourself some sand.

It doesn't appear to be sand. About 3 ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1399678690.404576.jpgweeks ago when I initially wrote this thread I had moved it to the bottom of my 55gallon tank. I had moved it up to mid way in the tank about a week ago when there was no change. Now it appears that the white is spreading. I just put it back to the bottom of the tank.

I did a coral dip tonight. The pictures show what came off them. Are these nudibranches?

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1399946307.503580.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1399946326.999951.jpg

Must be one of those days...you're right about that. Still aren't nudibranch. You'd see a slug with large protrusions coming out of the back about as long as your fingernail.

Must be one of those days...you're right about that. Still aren't nudibranch. You'd see a slug with large protrusions coming out of the back about as long as your fingernail.

We all have them :). Yep spot on with the description.