Cory sorta laying on his belly on the bottom

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mkatts

Aquarium Advice Regular
The last couple days we noticed one of our Cory's laying on the bottom of the tank but not flat on his belly. One side slightly higher than the other. Has a couple small red dots below eyes on each side. Acting much more lethargic than the other Cory is.

LFS says it sounds like high ammonia. Wants me to replace filter and do a water change.
I did a 50% water change on Saturday. I tested the water with the API Master kit before the change and ammonia and nitrites were 0 and nitrates were 5. I am at work so I can't test until tonight. LFS says that ammonia is much higher at the bottom of the tank so it affects bottom feeders first.

So when I test tonight, I am going to use the syringe that I have been using for the last 3 months to pull the water samples and pull the sample right from the bottom of the tank.

In the mean time, I am having my wife pour 3ml of prime into the water, just in case the ammonia is high.

Anything else I should be looking at to figure out what's wrong with him?

Hello mk...

Corydoras rest on the tank bottom in all kinds of positions that are natural to them, but not to other fish. They require pure water conditions and that means changing a lot of tank water and changing it often. I keep several species of Corys and am a water change fanatic. Changing half the water weekly isn't too much or too often. If you can commit to such an aggressive water change routine, then there's really no reason to test the water, you'll know it's always free of harmful toxins. There's just no time for nitrogen to build up before it's time to change the water again.

B

Hello mk...