Finally switched over to sand!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LittleFoot

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Well, I finally switched two of my tanks over to sand and I'm loving it! I may just have to swap the rest of them over now...

Here's the before and after shots:

Attachments

• beforeQA.jpg
    beforeQA.jpg
    43 KB · Views: 244
  • Queen Anne.jpg
    Queen Anne.jpg
    43.3 KB · Views: 231
  • JKbefore.jpg
    JKbefore.jpg
    41.8 KB · Views: 256
  • johanna karoline.jpg
    johanna karoline.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 267
Looks good, I have been using sand for two years, although it is very fine sand, similar to the texture of reef sand, natural white looks awesome need to make sure to have a good filter and vacuum regularly. It is more dense than allows for excellent bacteria, I have to watch for bad spots. Three months ago I bought the more granular sand which looks like yours in black to hide pots/roots and messiness, also looks cool!

I have just recently started up with planting. Did you directly put the roots into the sand or did you pot them or ???

Thank you! I just love the sand, and it's so much easier to plant in too! Planting is so much fun. Some of the plants are tied onto the rocks or driftwood, the others are planted in the sand directly.

Thanks for the info.

I bought a neglected planted tank, 30 gal long and I was excited thinking it would be a great learning tool. Only to find out that the substrate had some soil in it but there was so much mulm, and decaying plants and in over a month of numerous cleanings could not make any headway to get that stuff out. And it was bothering my allergies. After all that I decided to get a bigger tank so I could have some (more) guppies too, to consolidate.

My friend just took the 30 long and is going clean it out and redo it with sand blasting sand and use pots to plant it.