build sump in one side of a long tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

heemskn

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a novice, so apologies if this is obvious or already covered elswhere.

I have been reading lots of posts explaining why I need a sump and how to make one. However I do not have room under my tank to store a sump. Also, the tank will sit on a side table between two couches and will be viewed from the two long sides and one short side. So I can't have a power filter hanging of one of the sides.
How about this plan:
I will start with a relatively long tank. I will cut a sheet of (black) acrylic or Plexiglas to form a divider and glue it in so that it portions of about a quarter on one side of the tank. This portion will be the sump and will sit at the back side of the tank that cannot be viewed anyway. The divider will have holes for an overflow and return. Behind the divider I can build a little mini sump, using more acrylic sheet to create the layout described in other posts. Add some black paint on the outside of the glass to hide the sump from view from the outside. In effect it will be a DIY nanocube, but a narrow and long one, instead of the standard quare shape.

Advantages: Everything is contained in the original tank, no danger of messy leaks, no need to drill glass, nice clean look with no plumbing going in or out, sump is easily accessible from above.

Do you think this will work? Would a 20 gallon tank divided into a 15 gallon tank and 5 gal sump work or is that too small?

Thanks.

The idea is sound and works well for the nano-cube tanks. If this is going to be a SW tank you will have to keep up with your top off as the small sump will evaporate and your return pump will end up sucking air.

I'm certain that it has been done before and will work just fine.