Algae build up question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lilena

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello All,

I'm new at this so forgive any lack of information on my part.

My concern (I couldn't find the answer which prompted me to create a profile) is algae build up in my planted tank.

I currently have a 20 gallon with one betta, 4-5 assassin snails, various plants, PH is around 6.5, I haven't really tested the other levels that I'm sure I need. I have CO2 set up with high lighting, fertilizer substrate, and dry fert tabs. Everything is *thriving*! Including the algae...

I have this awesome looking aquatic moss that looks like grass (I had some bad experience with dwarf grass so I figured that would be my best option) and is spreading like I want it to but the algae build up is getting ridiculous.

My walls are turning green and stringy (and although I have an algae wiper magnet thing on the side, I can't clean it all because of some plants being in the way; my fault for over-crowding...) and some of my plants are turning brown with the algae.

I figured I could sweep off the plants manually when they turn brown like that and it gets to be too much, and then I noticed that these long hairs are sprouting everywhere on my plants. After a google search, I realized it's hair algae which needs to be removed manually with a toothbrush or something.