Algae Out Break

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rxblade123

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have an algae outbreak again... It's brown. And some green on my CO2 Bell. I have 2 watts per gallon. And I stopped using CO2 and dosing nutrients for a while because of my last algae outbreak. How do you I stop it? it's covered so leaves on my dwarf sagitarria, but mostly it on the walls of the tank.

As you are finding out algae is a big issue in planted tanks. I am not an expert on the subject, but can tell you what I have read on this site. The most important thing is to get the tank balanced. This means getting the nutrients, CO2, light, number of fish, and number of plants all in the right proportions. When this happens there will only be enough nutrients for the plants and they will starve the algae.

Generally CO2 helps the plants which lowers your algae. Do you know your CO2 levels? - you should not have to add too much at 2 watts/gallon.

Patience also helps. I have had a few algae outbreaks simply go away over time, as the tank matures.

What critters are in your cleanup crew?

HTH

Why did you stop CO2? If anything, CO2 is going to help reduce algae, if you have sufficient levels.

Algae is always caused by a nutrient imbalance. Please post your nitrate and phosphate levels, and what your CO2 levels were at before you stopped injecting.

Cutting off your nutrient dosing and CO2 is unlikely to help, I believe...It is my understanding that when your nutrients are too low, the plants end up suffering. What happens is there's too little for the plants to do well, but the algae can easily grab up the small amount that does exist and really take advantage of the situation. What you want is for your plants to out-compete the algae, and the only way they can do that is if they're adequately fed.