Pressurized CO2 with Wet/Dry Sump.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Snowh8er

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi. Anyone ever have any success running a fw planted aquarium with a wet/dry sump filter and pressurized CO2? I am attempting it (I know, not the ideal setup) and looking for some advice. I am running a Red Sea 500 reactor in the sump at around 4 bps. The sump is air-tight and the aquarium (90 gallon) is covered with glass tops. I can't seem to get my CO2 level to raise. My PH has only dropped from 8.0 to 7.8 and my KH stays around 10. I've been running the CO2 for about 2 months. Any help, suggestions or conversation about this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Is the inlet or outlet of the sump creating surface agitation in the tank or the sump? Is it an overflow?

Yes, it is a AGA w/built in Megaflow. The outlet from the durso overflow tube does hit a dual spray bar that spreads water over a media tray, that water than drips over bio-balls, and than it flows into sump area which than gets returned via a Panworld 100px external pump. The return is then split into 3 loc-line diffusers that are below the water line of the aquarium. There is quite a bit of splashing when the water go's to the filter, but my sump is completely sealed with low-adhesive clear tape. Wouldn't any degassing in the sump area get regassed because the CO2 would have no where to go but in the water?