New Tank and New fish!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jungleexplorer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all. I am a new aquarium owner. This is my first time to try an aquarium. It all started earlier this year when my daughter moved into a new apartment on Galveston Island. There is a small in land salt water pond next to the apartment and as I was walking along the wall I could see lots of fish right next to the wall. Being a fisherman, I got my pole and caught one. I had never seen a fish like this before and did not know what it was. After some research I found out that it was a, Rio Grande Cichlid (Herichthys cyanoguttatus). It amazed me that this freshwater fish could survive and thrive in a saltwater pond. I caught some pretty big ones in the 2 pound range too. Here is one.

DSC_0084_6.JPG

So, I was talking to a friend and he said he wanted some small ones for his 50 gallon aquarium. So I caught him some and took them to him to put in his tank.

collage_20150825220048360.jpg